Cartagena de Indias or Cartagena city is the capital of Bolívar Department, at the northern of Colombia, founded by Spaniard Don Pedro de Heredia, in June 1, 1533, with the name of “Cartagena de Poniente” to differentiate it from ” Cartagena de Levante “, in Spain, both with similar bays.
Today, Cartagena is the fifth largest city in population after Bogotá, Medellín, Cali and Barranquilla, with a +90% relative humidity, with the rainy season typically from April to May and October-November.

Although that in pre-Columbian times the Indians warriors Caribbean race lived on its shores and would give problems to more than a colonizing expedition that dared to land on its shores, since 1991 Cartagena is a tourist and cultural district. The city is located along the Caribbean Sea and is the second largest urban center in the Colombian Caribbean region, after Barranquilla.

The ethnic composition of Cartagena is the result of the merger of the three primitive races: the Columbian or original, white, coming from Spain, and the black slave brought from Africa. The symbiosis of these races is manifested in a population predominantly mestiza and black.

Since its founding in the sixteenth century and throughout the Spanish colonial era, Cartagena was one of the most important ports in America. This time is where most of its artistic and cultural heritage. On November 11, 1811, Cartagena declared its independence from Spain. This day is a national holiday in Colombia and the city celebrated it for four days known as the “Party of Independence.”

Over time, Cartagena has developed its urban area, preserving the historical area and became one of the most important ports in Colombia, as well as famous tourist destination.

Its total population is 892,545 inhabitants and together with its sphere of influence area become to a population of 1,188,044 inhabitants with the municipalities deTurbaco, Arjona, Turbana, Santa Rosa, Santa Catalina, Clemencia, Maria La Baja,